Sweet Corn Ice Cream

Gramercy Tavern‘s Sweet Corn Ice Cream, as published in Epicurious

Corn?  In ice cream??  Believe it.  If you’ve read about any of my other ice cream adventures, you may have noticed I like to try some different things when it comes to frozen desserts (sweet potato ice cream anyone?  Or how about a popcorn-infused frozen custard?)

So when I made this and asked five different people to try it before telling them what it is was, I don’t think anyone was surprised when I revealed what the mystery concoction was.  They all said the same thing upon tasting it blindly: “It tastes familiar…it’s good, I’m just not sure what it is.”  And I totally agree.  You eat it and think, “Hm, that’s interesting…and tasty…but what the heck is it??”  It’s sweet and custardy and earthy and smells wonderful.

I served this alongside a scoop of old school Friendly’s watermelon sherbet–a whole summer meal wrapped up into one dessert.

20130628-134131.jpg

Leave a Reply

