Pickled Watermelon Rind

Martha Stewart’s Pickled Watermelon Rind

No joke, I have eaten a whole watermelon every week this summer.  By myself.  I just love the stuff, and I am the only one in my house who cares for it, so what other option do I have during its fleeting season?

I never thought much about throwing away the copious watermelon rinds I carve off every week (note to self: get that composting operation off the ground for next summer’s garden), until I visited a lovely Southern institution in Atlanta that served picked watermelon rind.  And I knew I had to try making it.

Yes, I know it sounds gross.  But there is enough sugar in this recipe that it is definitely more of a sweet rather than a pucker-inducing condiment.  It works not only as a snack, but also as a garnish on…well, whatever food on which you could use pickles!

The pickled rinds floating in their sweet-tart suspension, studded with picking spices:

20120730-132132.jpg

Leave a Reply

