Sweet Potato Ice Cream

Sweet Potato Ice Cream, adapted from a Food Network recipe

While at the produce stand, my son demanded asked, “Mommy, I want sweet potatoooooooes.”  Who can say no to a kid begging for vegetables?  Unfortunately, by the time I had gotten home and baked them, he was not so interested.  When putting the leftover potatoes back in the fridge, I spotted a carton of cream…do you see where I’m going with this?

I had planned on making ice cream that night, so I figured, “Why not?”  I Googled “sweet potato ice cream” and got millions of results, so I looked at this one and improvised from there (I omitted the beer, cut back on the sugar and added some banana…plus I wasn’t using full-fat cream.)  I was too impatient to let it mellow and harden in the freezer and opted to eat it soft-serve style instead.

This recipe lends itself to all sorts of fall-minded mix-ins, such as pecans (as was suggested during a brainstorming session on my Facebook page), pie crust pieces, apple chunks or broken gingersnaps.

20110901-122243.jpg

1 Comment

  1. 07.04.13 at 10:37 am

    […] you may have noticed I like to try some different things when it comes to frozen desserts (sweet potato ice cream anyone?  Or how about a popcorn-infused frozen […]


Leave a Reply

