Peach and Almond Tart with a Gingersnap Crust

Peach and Almond Tart with a Gingersnap Crust, adapted from Louise Gardener’s Pies and Smitten Kitchen

I had peach slices in my freezer.  I had ground gingersnaps in my freezer.  I had a new tart pan.  Can you guess where I’m going with this?

I found a lovely Peach and Almond Tart recipe in Pies, but wasn’t so sure about the chocolate crust it recommended.  But a gingersnap crust?  That sounded amazing to me.  I found a basic one on Smitten Kitchen (a fabulous blog, if you are not already familiar), and made the rest of the tart according to the recipe in Pies.

The baked gingersnap crust:

20110820-095158.jpg

The crust, filled with an almond batter:

20110820-095206.jpg

Whenever a recipe calls for ground almonds, (such as these dark chocolate-almond crackles), I use Trader Joe’s almond meal.  This stuff is a huge time-saver, tastes great, and is more economical than buying whole almonds):


The baked tart, with peaches and an apricot-brandy glaze on top:

20110820-095226.jpg

 

1 Comment

  1. 08.23.11 at 9:26 am

    […] to make pear, peach, papaya, plum, mango and apricot-coconut varieties.  This was a good use for some remaining peach slices I had.  The only adjustment I made was I circled the top of the cake in […]


Leave a Reply

