Snickerdoodles

Martha Stewart’s Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles have probably the silliest name  among all the cookies.  There are different reported etymologies of the word, but one thing is for sure–they are a people-pleaser.

A colleague of mine requested I make these for the office, and I heard from a ton of people saying these were the best snickerdoodles they had ever had.  This was the first time I had made this recipe, and it seemed familiar.  I looked through my cookbook of collected family recipes, and this recipe is the same as the one my grandmother has been making for 70 years–except this recipe calls for a half cup butter and a half cup of shortening, while my grandmother’s calls for all butter.  These seemed chewier (and flatter, for some odd reason) than the all-butter version I remember her making in my youth.

So…since this is the crazy-busy season at my work, I totally forgot to take a picture of the cookies I baked, but they looked just like Martha’s here!

Leave a Reply

