Blackberry Crumb Bars

Martha Stewart’s Blackberry Crumb Bars

I picked up four gallons of blackberries at a berry farm this weekend, so be prepared for a number of blackberry-centric posts in the coming weeks!  I started my blackberry escapade by making these  bars.  They are composed of three layers: a light cake batter base, a layer of blackberries, and a streusel topping.  They are very moist and beautiful when you cut into them.  I imagine other types of berries would work in this recipe just as well.

20110719-101148.jpg

3 Comments

  1. 07.26.11 at 10:05 am

    […] buns from a cookout I attended.  I wanted to make a bread pudding with them, and given the glut of blackberries populating my refrigerator and freezer, I sought out a berry bread pudding recipe to use up both of […]

  2. 08.08.11 at 9:41 pm

    […] staring to feel like Bubba Blue from Forrest Gump–blackberry bars, blackberry cake, blackberry pudding…and now blackberry crisp!  I subbed in peaches and […]

  3. 05.09.12 at 11:45 am

    […] it–I finished up all of those blackberries languishing in my freezer from last summer’s blackberry-picking trip (just in time to fill my freezer with this year’s strawberry […]


Leave a Reply

