Blueberry-Apple Crumbles

Blueberry-Apple Crumbles, adapted from Delicious Crumbles and Cobblers’ Apple & Blackberry Crumble

I picked up a pint of blueberries at the farmers’ market a few days ago, and they had been just sitting in my fridge begging to be baked into something yummy.  I found this crumble (a dish of stewed fruit topped with a crumbly mixture of butter, flour and sugar) recipe calling for blackberries, and just substituted blueberries instead.

I was happily surprised to discover as my son and I were making these that they are quite healthy!  The recipe calls for half of the flour in the topping to be whole wheat, and there is not much added sugar in these.  My two-year-old had a great time mixing the crumble topping and sprinkling it on top of the fruit with his hands.

Since there are only two of us in my household, and I knew we would never eat a whole crumble while it was still fresh, I made these in 6-ounce ramekins so they could be heated as individual portions, freezing a few for later use.  I also substituted Downey’s Cinnamon Honey Butter for half of the butter in the topping (and cut back on the raw sugar to compensate for the honey butter’s sweetness.)

 

 

20110714-110709.jpg

Leave a Reply

