Chocolate-Coconut Cheesecake Squares

Chocolate-Coconut Cheesecake Squares, adapted from Martha Stewart

I’m going through a “use up all the random crap in my cupboards/fridge/freezer” phase.  This is a fun game where I pull out the remnants of ingredients from other recipes and try to figure out what I can cobble together (dinner that night was a spinach salad with tempeh nuggets, black beans, peas, cucumbers and pasta…I call such creations the “random crap salads.”) What baking ingredients did I find to use up that evening?

  • Chocolate graham cracker crumbs
  • Honey graham crackers
  • Flaked coconut
  • Stray squares of milk and semi-sweet chocolate
  • 3 egg yolks (leftover from making Meringue Flowers)
  • 6 tubs of whipped cream cheese (don’t ask)
Well, this bar recipe certainly was perfect for using up all of those things.  I had to make a few adaptations: I ground up the flaked coconut to the consistency of shredded, and I used a mix of the chocolate and honey graham crackers crumbs for the crust, instead of all plain graham cracker crumbs.  I ended up having exactly the right amount of crumbs and coconut I needed for this recipe.  Karma?  You bet.  Now I just need to figure out what to do with those four other tubs of cream cheese.  Suggestions welcome in the comments section.

A parfait of crumbs and coconut, the basis of the crust:

The goodness known as melted chocolate, sugar and butter, which held together the crumbs for the crust:

The baked crust.  It is a chewy, fudgy base – pretty much good ’nuff to just eat on its own:

The baked bars, cooling:

The finished squares.  What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

