Brown Sugar Shortbread with Date and Walnut Filling Sandwich Cookies

Brown Sugar Shortbread with Date and Walnut Filling Sandwich Cookies, adapted from The Washington Post and Martha Stewart

I wanted to make Martha’s Date-and-Walnut Sandwich Cookies linked to above, but really couldn’t be bothered to go out to buy cookies as a vehicle for try this awesome-sounding filling.  I thought this Brown Sugar Shortbread recipe would be very compatible for the filling, and would work well in sandwich form.  Instead of cutting the shortbread in squares per the recipe’s instructions, I used a diamond-shaped cookie cutter to form cookies that were more even, for better sandwich assembly.

The filling – I could have totally just eaten all of this with a spoon.  I had some leftovers, which I plan to use as a cracker/bread/bagel spread or serve with cheese.

The baked shortbread; I cut it into shapes while it was still warm, to avoid crumbling. (And yes, that cookie cutter is older than I am.)

All of the cut-out cookies:

The finished sandwiches:



Leave a Reply

