Cream Cheese and Jelly Mini Muffins with Orange Glaze

Cream Cheese and Jelly Mini Muffins with Orange Glaze, adapted from from Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbroug’s The Ultimate Muffin Book

OK, these may sound totally gross (I know, two nasty-sounding recipes in one week, right?), but hear me out.  My mom (and my sister will vouch for me here) used to send us to school with bagels (well, those frozen “bagels” popular in the 80s…do they still make those?) with cream cheese and jelly for lunch, and the combo of those condiments is pretty darn good.  I wanted to make something bite-sized not totally laden with sugar for my son to share at school, so when I came across this Cream Cheese Muffin recipe, I used a mini-muffin pan for the batter, added a plop of jelly (well, organic blackberry preserves to be exact) to the middle, and stirred up a simple orange-scented glaze to make them look pretty (because two-year-olds care.)

Leave a Reply

