Dried Cranberry, Toasted Walnut and Sour Cream Pound Cakes

Dried Cranberry, Toasted Walnut and Sour Cream Pound Cakes, adapted from Carole Bloom’s Bite-Size Desserts.

(You can also check out pages 18-19 of the cookbook via Amazon’s “Look Inside” feature for the recipe.)

I needed a recipe to make a gift for my aunt who is turning 102 today – that’s right, 102.  I can only hope I have the longevity that blesses her.  Anyway, my requirements for this treat were that I needed to make something relatively soft in texture and miniature in size.  While perusing Bite-Size Desserts, I came across a recipe for Dried Cherry, Toasted Pecan and Sour Cream Pound Cakes.  Well, I had no dried cherries, but I  did have a bunch of dried cranberries and a boatload of walnuts to boot, so I thought those would make great substitutes.  Lo and behold, I got to the end of the recipe, and the author recommends those same substitutions.  I must know what I’m doing.

Among my stash of dozens of unusual baking pans, I had the critical mini-Bundt pan that makes these cakes what they are.  I know, you must be thinking, “Why on earth would you have such an useless piece of equipment.”  For recipes like this – that’s why.  Who’s laughing now?

Mine is a hand-me-down, as you can tell.  Given the opposite side is a mustard-colored enamel, I’m thinking this pan is of the 70s’ era – making it older than I.

This recipe came together quickly and baked up beautifully–mine were done in 20 minutes though, so make sure you keep an eye on them and test them well before the recommended 25-28 minutes are up.

Happy birthday Aunt Mele!

Leave a Reply

