Date Pecan Pie

Date Pecan Pie, adapted from Maida Heatter’s Book of Great American Desserts, as published in The Washington Post.

Dear Lord this is a fussy recipe.  It is looooooong because it details step-by-step how to put the pie together.  I’m sure this would be appreciated by someone making their first pie, but it really annoyed me. It should be as simple as 1) Make crust, 2)Make filling, 3)Put ’em together and 4) Bake.

Anyway, this was a good twist on pecan pie.  I am in the minority among my family in claiming pecan as my favorite pie, so when my Thanksgiving host informed me she would not be serving pecan pie I just made one for myself.

In the spirt of pie-making instruction, here is my trick for rolling out the pastry – place the refrigerated dough between two sheets of lightly floured wax paper, place on a silicone baking mat, and roll it out.  This makes it easier to transfer to the pie plate, without sticking to the surface on which you rolled it.

And here’s a tip for parbaking the crust.  Line the crust with foil and fill with a pound of dried beans.  You can buy pie weights instead if you want, but beans are practically free.  The weight prevents the crust from puffing up.

And here is the finished pie.  I loved the addition of the dates – they basically melted into the filling, contributing to the sweet gooiness that is pecan pie.

Leave a Reply

