Chocolate Blackout Cake

Chocolate Blackout Cake, as published in The Week

This is a very moist, rich chocolate cake filled and frosted with chocolate pudding – this cake is not for chocolate wusses!  This is one of my favorite things I have ever made – I highly recommend it for a serious chocolate lover or as a celebration cake.

Since I made this cake for a birthday celebration, my sister made a fondant bow to decorate the top.

This recipe calls for torting (horizontally splitting) the baked layers, and crumbling one of those layers to use to decorate the outside of the frosted cake.  However, I opted to keep all four layers in tact and have a four-layer cake.  There was still plenty of pudding to fill and frost the cake.

4 Comments

  1. 01.05.11 at 10:46 pm

    I just came across your blog. Very nice cakes! Have you made white chocolate mousse cake?

  2. lindseyjhu said,

    01.06.11 at 8:04 pm

    That sounds fantastic – would love if you could share a recipe.

  3. 01.06.11 at 8:20 pm

    i’m working on it (trying to make it with vegetable based unflavored jel dessert)…what i do have is a chocolate mousse recipe posted on my blog
    http://www.haajarsrecipes.wordpress.com. do check it out 🙂

  4. 03.01.11 at 11:33 am

    I love chocolate cake! Preferably without nuts!


Leave a Reply

