Honey Banana Pumpkin Bread

Honey Banana Pumpkin Bread, adapted from ohsheglows.com

(This was the first time I’d seen this blog, and I love it! I will definitely be reading it for some more healthy recipes.)

I had both overripe bananas and leftover canned pumpkin from making Pumpkin Ice Cream, so I figured this recipe would be a good way to use up both of them. Banana is one of Wyatt’s very favorite foods in the whole wide world, and the boy never turns down carbs, so I knew he would love it (plus I’d get some veggies in him, that sucker!) I made a few changes to this recipe to make it more appropriate for my particular one-year-old :

  • I omitted the sugar (Wyatt certainly doesn’t need the extra sugar, and with two bananas and a half-cup of honey, this was sweet enough for him. If you’re making this for adults though, I think the sugar would makes a difference for more mature palates);
  • I omitted the raisins, because Wyatt likes to pick them out of foods and just eat the raisins, leaving a trail of crumbs wherever he goes;
  • I used one cup of whole wheat flour and a half-cup of white flour because I was concerned all of that whole wheat flour would leave me with a Honey Banana Pumpkin Brick; and
  • I only had 2/3 of a cup of pumpkin left over, so that is all I used, and the recipe turned out just fine!

I was surprised that this recipe turned out so well without any eggs. This may not be the best recipe to make a tasty treat when you want to impress company, but if you want some healthy comfort food or a healthy snack for kids, this will fit the bill.

Leave a Reply

