Caramelized Apple Crumb Cake

Caramelized Apple Crumb Cake, published in the Washington Post

A farm-to-table story – we started by picking apples at Larriland Farm.

I used my apple corer/peeler/slicer to prepare the apples. I only use this thing about once a year, but I’m glad I have it when I need it!

You start by caramelizing the apples.

You parbake the cake and then top with the apples and some crumb topping…

…which then sink in after you bake some more.  You add some more crumb topping then finish baking.

I forgot to take a picture of the finished cake, but here is a nice slice!  You can see how the apples and streusel sink into the cake.  I warmed the cake before serving and served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.  And this is why autumn is my favorite season.

2 Comments

  1. Leslee said,

    10.04.10 at 11:26 pm

    Love the story and the photos! It looks so good!

  2. Steph Shock said,

    10.09.10 at 7:12 pm

    mmmmm I definitely want to try this. I don’t know how you stay so slim!


Leave a Reply

